Cursor Pricing in 2026: Plans, Request Limits and What Teams Actually Pay

  • Cursor Pro costs $20 per user per month, but fast request limits mean heavy users regularly hit the ceiling within days and face slower completions or extra charges.
  • The Teams plan is $40 per user per month and includes 5x the standard Agent request limits, centralized billing, and admin controls , not just a group discount.
  • Premium model requests (Claude Sonnet, GPT-4o, and similar) draw from a separate pool on every plan; exhausting that pool does not end your session, it drops you to slower, cheaper models automatically.
  • For a 20-person engineering team, the honest monthly bill sits between $800 and $2,400 depending on whether they run Pro or Teams and how aggressively they use Agent mode.
  • The $20 sticker price is real, but it is not the whole story for any developer who uses Cursor as their primary editor.

Cursor offers four individual plans , Hobby (free), Pro ($20/month), Pro Plus ($60/month), and Ultra ($200/month) , and two team tiers at $40 and $120 per user per month, with Enterprise pricing on request. The real cost driver is not the seat price but the fast request and premium model caps that vary by plan, reset monthly, and determine whether AI completions feel instant or sluggish during the last week of your billing cycle.


What Does Cursor Actually Cost Across Every Plan?

cursor 1

Cursor’s public pricing page lists five paid options as of this writing. The Hobby tier is free and includes limited completions. Pro at $20 per month is where most individual developers land. Pro Plus at $60 and Ultra at $200 exist for power users who want materially larger request pools without switching to a team contract.

Teams pricing starts at $40 per user per month and scales to $120 per user per month for the higher-tier team plan. Enterprise pricing is not publicly disclosed; Cursor directs buyers to contact sales. The jump from Pro to the base Teams plan doubles the seat cost but includes admin dashboards, centralized billing, and the 5x Standard Agent limit boost that the individual plans do not carry.

PlanPrice (per user/month)Fast RequestsAgent LimitsBest For
HobbyFreeLimitedLimitedEvaluation only
Pro$20StandardStandardSolo developers
Pro Plus$60HigherHigherHeavy individual users
Ultra$200Highest individualHighest individualFull-time AI-native developers
Teams (Standard)$40Standard + team controls5x StandardEngineering teams under 50
Teams (Pro)$120Higher + team controlsHigherHigh-usage teams
EnterpriseContact salesCustomCustomLarge orgs, compliance needs

What Happens When You Run Out of Fast Requests?

Fast requests are the compute allocation behind instant AI responses. When you exhaust your monthly fast request pool, Cursor does not cut you off. It routes completions through what the platform calls slow mode, which uses the same underlying models but queues your requests differently, resulting in noticeably longer wait times.

For most Pro users, the experience shift is subtle at first and then genuinely disruptive. Inline completions feel laggy. Agent tasks that normally finish in seconds stretch to 30 or 60 seconds. Developers who use Cursor as their primary editor consistently report burning through their fast request allocation in the first two to three weeks of a billing cycle, based on community discussions in Cursor’s forums.

Cursor also offers usage-based pricing as an alternative. Rather than upgrading a plan tier, developers can activate pay-as-you-go billing for additional requests. According to Vantage’s Cursor pricing breakdown, the Auto mode model selection is priced at roughly $0.25 per million tokens for cache reads and $1.25 per million tokens for standard input. That is cheap at moderate volume and expensive when an Agent task runs a long multi-file refactor.


Does Cursor Charge Extra for Claude, GPT-4o, and Other Premium Models?

Premium model requests draw from a separate allocation on every Cursor plan. Claude Sonnet, GPT-4o, and similar frontier models count against your premium request pool rather than your general fast request count. Running out of premium requests drops you to the Auto model selection, which Cursor manages to balance cost and quality automatically.

This creates a two-layer ceiling that surprises most new subscribers. A Pro user can exhaust their premium model pool mid-month and then exhaust their fast request pool separately. At that point, they are on slow mode with Auto-selected models , functional, but a different experience than what drew them to the tool. The practical answer for developers who primarily want Claude Sonnet or GPT-4o throughout the month is that the Pro plan at $20 is unlikely to hold. Pro Plus or Teams becomes the honest starting point.


How Much Does Cursor Cost for a 20-Person Team?

This is where the math shifts from personal finance to procurement. To calculate what teams actually pay versus the advertised seat price, run three inputs: seat count, plan tier, and estimated monthly Agent usage per developer. For a 20-person engineering team, three scenarios cover most real-world situations:

ScenarioPlanSeatsMonthly Seat CostEstimated Overage RiskTotal Monthly Range
Light usage (code completion, occasional chat)Teams Standard20$800Low$800 to $950
Moderate usage (daily Agent tasks, frequent chat)Teams Standard20$800Medium$900 to $1,400
Heavy usage (Agent-first workflow, premium models daily)Teams Pro20$2,400Low to medium$2,400 to $2,800

The overage estimates assume usage-based billing is activated. Teams that disable usage-based billing protect their budget but accept slow mode degradation when the pool empties. Neither option is wrong , it depends on whether your team prioritizes predictable costs or consistent performance.


Cursor Pro vs Teams: What Do You Actually Get for Double the Price?

The Teams Standard plan costs exactly twice the Pro plan per seat. The additional budget buys three things that do not exist on any individual plan: centralized billing across all seats, admin controls for managing team access, and the 5x Standard Agent limit boost. That last item is the one that matters operationally.

On Pro, Agent mode runs under standard limits. On Teams Standard, those limits are multiplied five times, which directly addresses the mid-month slowdown that individual Pro subscribers hit. For a team running Agent-heavy workflows , multi-file refactors, automated test generation, codebase Q&A , the Teams plan is not expensive relative to Pro. It is a different product.

The case for keeping a team on individual Pro licenses and letting developers manage their own billing is real only when usage is genuinely light and there is no administrative reason to centralize. Most engineering leads find that individual billing across 10+ developers creates enough overhead to justify the Teams premium on its own. For a broader view of where Cursor sits in the market, the top AI coding assistants for developers comparison covers the full competitive field.


Cursor vs GitHub Copilot: Which Costs Less Per Developer?

GitHub Copilot’s individual plan is $10 per month or $100 per year. Cursor Pro is $20 per month. At face value, Copilot costs half as much. That framing holds only for developers who use AI primarily for inline code completion and occasional chat.

Cursor’s advantage is architectural. Its Agent mode can plan and execute multi-step tasks across an entire codebase, referencing file context that Copilot’s inline model does not reach. Developers who use that capability report completing tasks in Cursor that would take multiple sessions in Copilot. Whether that productivity delta justifies a $10 monthly premium per developer is a calculation each team runs differently. For a direct head-to-head on features, workflow, and model quality, the Cursor vs GitHub Copilot comparison covers both tools in depth.

For a 20-person team, the annual gap between Copilot Business ($19 per user per month) and Cursor Teams Standard ($40 per user per month) is roughly $5,040 per year. That is a real number. The productivity argument needs to be concrete, not assumed, before signing a team contract at that difference.


What Is Cursor Enterprise Pricing and Who Needs It?

Cursor does not publicly list Enterprise pricing. Organizations that contact sales typically need one or more of the following: SOC 2 compliance documentation, custom data retention agreements, single sign-on integration, or contract terms that do not exist on the self-serve tiers. The Teams plan covers most engineering teams of 5 to 100 people without needing a sales conversation.

Enterprise becomes relevant for companies in regulated industries, organizations with procurement processes that require vendor review, or teams large enough that per-seat costs warrant negotiated rates. If your legal or security team needs to review the data handling before approving a coding tool, self-serve Teams is not the right entry point. If AI tools for your team need to pass an IT review process similar to what a dedicated AI code review tool would face, budget extra time for the procurement cycle.


Is Cursor Worth It Compared to a Free Plan?

The Hobby plan is genuinely useful for evaluation. It is not a viable tool for a developer using Cursor as their primary editor , the limits are designed to demonstrate the product, not support daily work. Most developers who evaluate Cursor on Hobby and then use it for a full week of real work will hit the ceiling before Friday.

Pro at $20 makes sense for any developer who currently uses a paid AI coding tool and values context-aware, multi-file chat over pure autocomplete. The fast request limits are the real constraint, not the feature set. Pro Plus at $60 buys substantially more runway before hitting slow mode and is the plan that heavy individual users should start their evaluation on rather than learning the limits exist the hard way.


Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Cursor cost per month for an individual developer?

Cursor’s individual plans run from free (Hobby) to $20 (Pro), $60 (Pro Plus), and $200 (Ultra) per month, billed monthly. Annual billing is available , Cursor does not publicly state the exact discount percentage, so check their pricing page directly for the current annual rate before committing. The Pro plan at $20 is the standard entry point for professional use, though heavy users of Agent mode and premium models like Claude Sonnet will find Pro Plus at $60 is the practical minimum for an uninterrupted experience throughout the billing cycle.

What happens when I run out of fast requests on Cursor?

Cursor routes your completions to slow mode automatically. The same AI models remain available, but response times increase significantly , from near-instant to 30 seconds or more per completion in some cases. Usage-based billing, if activated in your account settings, lets you continue at fast speeds by paying for additional requests at the overage rate. If usage-based billing is disabled, slow mode persists until your monthly allocation resets.

Does Cursor charge extra for Claude or GPT-4o requests?

Premium model requests , including Claude Sonnet and GPT-4o , draw from a separate monthly pool on every plan. Exhausting that pool switches your session to Cursor’s Auto model, which automatically selects a cost-efficient model rather than your preferred frontier model. This is a separate ceiling from the fast request limit, meaning a Pro user can hit both caps independently within the same billing period.

How much does Cursor Teams cost for a 20-person team?

At the Teams Standard rate of $40 per user per month, a 20-person team pays $800 per month in base seat costs. Teams with moderate to heavy Agent usage should budget an additional $100 to $600 per month for usage-based overage charges, bringing the realistic range to $900 to $1,400 per month. Teams on the Pro tier at $120 per user pay $2,400 per month in base costs, with lower overage risk due to higher included limits.

Is Cursor Pro worth it compared to GitHub Copilot at $10?

For developers who primarily use AI for inline autocomplete and single-file chat, Copilot at $10 is the more efficient spend. Cursor Pro at $20 is worth the premium for developers who work regularly with Agent mode across multi-file contexts, run automated refactors, or need codebase-level Q&A. The productivity gain from Cursor’s Agent mode on complex tasks is real and measurable; whether your daily workflow actually triggers it is the deciding question.

What are the fast request limits on the Cursor Pro plan?

Cursor does not publicly disclose the exact fast request count for the Pro plan. Developers posting in Cursor’s community forums consistently report exhausting the Pro allocation within 10 to 15 days when running Agent mode and frequent chat , a pattern also noted in Vantage’s Cursor pricing breakdown. Cursor’s documentation confirms that Teams Standard provides 5x the Standard Agent limits compared to individual plans, which implies individual plans share a common baseline, but the specific cap number remains unpublished. This is a known frustration among Pro subscribers.

What does Cursor Enterprise pricing include?

Cursor Enterprise pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires a sales conversation. Enterprise contracts typically cover custom data retention terms, SSO integration, compliance documentation (including SOC 2), dedicated support, and negotiated per-seat rates. It is the appropriate tier for organizations in regulated industries or companies whose IT procurement requires vendor review before tool approval. Teams of under 100 developers can usually operate on the self-serve Teams plan without needing enterprise terms.

Can I use Cursor for free as a student?

Cursor does not publicly advertise a dedicated student discount or free tier beyond the standard Hobby plan as of this writing. The Hobby plan provides limited completions and is free for anyone, including students. Some educational institutions have arrangements with developer tool vendors, but Cursor has not publicly confirmed a verified student program. Check Cursor’s official site directly for any current educational offers, as these programs change and may not be reflected here.


The Real Cost Model Most Buyers Ignore

The sticker price is the easy part of the Cursor pricing conversation. The harder part is that Cursor’s billing model creates two independent usage ceilings , fast requests and premium model requests , that can both empty within the same billing cycle for a developer running an Agent-heavy workflow. Most buyers learn about those ceilings after they hit them, not before.

The practical mental model for budgeting Cursor is to add 20 to 30 percent to the base seat price if your team uses Agent mode or premium models daily. That buffer covers usage-based overages for moderate users and sets an honest expectation before you are defending a larger-than-expected invoice to finance. For teams comparing total cost of ownership across AI coding tools, a look at the full field in the top AI coding assistants review puts the per-seat economics in context against alternatives.

Cursor is a genuinely different product from its nearest competitors at the workflow level. The pricing reflects that. What matters is matching the plan to actual usage patterns rather than choosing based on the lowest advertised number and discovering the real cost mid-sprint.

Bryan Falcon
Bryan Falcon